Data center tracker
Salt Lake City data center project tracker
Data center projects in the Salt Lake City area and nearby Utah counties that are proposed, approved, under construction, stalled or cancelled. Each row links to the public record or news report its stage comes from. Last checked October 23, 2026.
By Czarina Tabayoyong, Founder, Critical Path Hiring
Last reviewed · First published · Next update
Reviewed as projects move between stages.
Refresh alerts
One email each time this page is refreshed, with what changed.
Projects
Showing 11 of 11 projects
| Project | Developer | County | Size reported | Stage | Latest status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| QTS Eagle Mountain campus (SLC1) | QTS Data Centers | Utah (Eagle Mountain) | Not stated | Under construction | Work began September 2025; official groundbreaking October 2025; third building topped out April 2026 | utahbusiness.com |
| Novva West Jordan campus | Novva Data Centers and CIM Group | Salt Lake (West Jordan) | 100 acres; 1.5 million sq ft planned; 175 MW at completion | Under construction | Phase 1 operating since 2023; phases 2 and 3 under construction and expected to finish in 2026, reported March 2025 | constructconnect.com |
| Joule AI data center and energy campus | Joule Capital Partners | Millard | About 4,000 acres | Under construction | Millard County commission approved project August 2025; groundbreaking November 2025; power expected to begin in 2026 | abc4.com |
| Stratos Project | Not named in the cited report; Kevin O'Leary is backing it | Box Elder (unincorporated) | About 20,000 acres, per county officials; MW not stated | Approved | County commissioners approved interlocal agreement giving land-use authority to MIDA for 50 years May 2026; county 180-day moratorium on new data centers passed June 2026 excludes Stratos; referendum lawsuits filed in 1st District Court June 2026 | upr.org |
| Nebo North data center campus | Nebo North LLC | Juab (Mona) | 361 acres; up to 10 buildings of about 300,000 sq ft each; $10 billion estimated | Approved | Planning commission approved conditional use permit April 2026; site plan not yet submitted as of early September 2026; residents filed appeal September 2026 asking county to overturn permit and halt project work | sltrib.com |
| Creekstone Energy data center campus | Creekstone Energy | Millard | $17 billion investment; MW and acres not stated | Approved | Plans announced April 2026; Utah Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity awarded rural tax increment financing incentive; no construction reported | areadevelopment.com |
| Tract Eagle Mountain land | Tract | Utah (Eagle Mountain) | More than 668 acres; more than 400 MW of new transmission planned | Approved | Land purchase completed January 2024; site is in an overlay allowing data centers by right; power delivery targeted for 2028 | utahbusiness.com |
| Meta Eagle Mountain expansion | Meta | Utah (Eagle Mountain) | Not stated for new buildings; total Utah investment more than $3 billion | Proposed | Fourth campus expansion announced September 2026; full details not released; closed-loop liquid cooling planned | datacenterdynamics.com |
| Volition data center | Volition | Utah (Spanish Fork) | 440,000 sq ft warehouse; original proposal 225 MW | Proposed | City council amended zoning to allow original proposal September 2026; Volition agreed to move to Stockman Flats warehouse site September 2026; site plan, studies and development agreement still required | sltrib.com |
| Tooele Valley Project Area data center | Local developer named in the cited report | Tooele (near I-80 and Burmester Road) | 500 MW on about 200 acres | Stalled | County council directed staff to draft data center rules June 2026; county has not approved plans; state water discharge permit hearing held July 2026 with no decision | sltrib.com |
| B+F Timpanogos Tech data center | B+F Timpanogos Tech | Utah (Provo) | 66,000 sq ft; about 5 MW initial, up to 30 MW; about $280 million | Cancelled | City council voted unanimously to deny the rezoning March 2026, against city staff's recommendation; developer may reapply | datacenterdynamics.com |
Hiring by stage
Each project's stage comes from its latest source. The hiring column shows who employers usually hire at that stage.
| Stage | Hiring |
|---|---|
| Under construction | Electricians, superintendents and MEP coordinators, plus commissioning teams as buildings near completion |
| Approved | Preconstruction and design roles first, then construction crews once power dates firm up |
| Proposed | No hiring yet |
| Stalled or cancelled | None |
See the Salt Lake City market page and the hiring timeline by build stage. We also track projects in Northern Virginia, Dallas-Fort Worth, Phoenix, Chicago, Hillsboro, Oregon, San Antonio, Columbus and Atlanta. Totals for every market are on the U.S. data center project tracker.
Related
Hiring in Salt Lake City
Who is building, who is hiring and how we run searches in Salt Lake City.
Salt Lake City pay bands
Directional pay for facilities, commissioning, controls and construction roles in Salt Lake City.
Hiring windows by market
When each market's tracked projects reach commissioning and turnover, 2026 to 2029.
Newsletter
Critical Path Search
A newsletter on hiring for data center builds. The first issue goes out with our first Data Center Commissioning Workforce Report.