Critical Path Hiring logoCritical PathHiring
Book a hiring diagnostic

Hiring framework

Commissioning job levels

CAI's Senior Electrical Commissioning Engineer asks five to ten years and posted at $91,300 to $107,300. DLB Associates' Field Specialist I asks a degree or about seven years and posted at $99,750 to $120,225. Eight commissioning postings from six employers are side by side below, with the five levels we use to scope a commissioning search.

Czarina Tabayoyong, founder of Critical Path Hiring

By Czarina Tabayoyong, Founder, Critical Path Hiring. Former Amazon, AWS and Google recruiter.

Last reviewed · First published

Postings are added as we read them. The employer table grows with each pay refresh.

Refresh alerts

One email each time this page is refreshed, with what changed.

Privacy policy

Employers

Each row quotes the employer's own posting, read on November 5, 2026. 4 of 8 state pay.

EmployerTitleExperience askedTesting scopeTravelPosted pay
DLB AssociatesProviderCommissioning Field Technician IIIPhoenix, AZ (hybrid, near a major airport)Posted July 25, 2026; closed August 23, 2026Bachelor's degree, or two years of hands-on installation, testing and troubleshooting plus three more yearsBuilds on Technician I and II; must be able to obtain NFPA 70E and OSHA 10 or 30Not stated$78,750 to $95,812.50 a year
DLB AssociatesProviderCommissioning Field Specialist IHybrid, U.S. field locations including Manassas, Dallas, Denver and SeattleBachelor's degree, or two years of hands-on testing plus a minimum of five years moreWrites commissioning plans, pre-functional checklists and functional test scripts; factory witness testing; directs vendors in testing; works independently or under limited supervisionUp to 75 percent$99,750 to $120,225 a year
CAIProviderData Center Services Mechanical Commissioning Engineer, Staff IINot statedMinimum of 2 years of data center commissioning; bachelor's degree or equivalent experienceNot stated by levelUp to 75 percentNot stated
CAIProviderSenior Data Center Services Electrical Commissioning EngineerAshburn, Columbus, Des Moines, Kansas City, Atlanta, Raleigh, Miami (hybrid)Five to ten years of data center commissioning; bachelor's degree or equivalent experienceWrites electrical commissioning scripts, executes test scripts, reports daily to the commissioning project manager75 percent$91,300 to $107,300 a year
CPGProviderElectrical Commissioning Agent IIRemote, U.S.U.S. citizenship required3 to 5 years in the engineering field; degree a plus, or comparable experienceFactory acceptance and Level 1 through 5 tests; prepares test procedures with limited supervision; leads with supervision at timesUp to 75 percentNot stated
QTS Data CentersOwnerCommissioning Engineer II (Electrical)Glendale, AZThree to seven years of technical training, military training or workplace equivalencyLevel 3, 4 and 5 commissioning of base building systems; mentors more junior commissioning engineers30 to 50 percentNot stated
Amazon Data ServicesOwnerCommissioning Engineer, AMER-Central ACxNot stated5+ years in mission critical facilities or data center infrastructure, 3+ years of commissioning, bachelor's in mechanical or electrical engineering, and NETA, ASHRAE or commissioning trainingLeads factory witness testing; manages third-party commissioning vendors, whose scope is to execute pre-functional, functional and integrated systems tests; reviews design and submittals; input into test scriptsNot statedNot stated
AmpiricalPower testingTesting & Commissioning Engineer II, III, Sr. or Staff (substation)Remote, Northern Virginia needSubstation work, listed for comparison with data center commissioning laddersBachelor's (ABET) plus 2+ years (II), 4+ (III), 6+ (Sr.), 8+ (Staff)One scope for all levels: relay settings, equipment testing, SCADA verificationUp to 75 percent$38 to $85 an hour, one range for all levels

Findings

  • The numeral II asks for two years at CAI, three to five at CPG and three to seven at QTS.
  • A senior title at one provider posted below a Specialist I title at another: CAI's Senior Electrical Commissioning Engineer at $91,300 to $107,300, DLB's Field Specialist I at $99,750 to $120,225.
  • Owner and provider jobs with the same title are different jobs. Amazon's Commissioning Engineer manages the third-party vendors whose scope is to execute the tests. A provider's commissioning engineer is often the person executing them.
  • Where a posting describes scope, the step up from technician to engineer is writing the test scripts. DLB's Field Specialist I writes the plans, checklists and scripts.
  • 4 of 8 postings state pay. Ampirical gives one range, $38 to $85 an hour, for four levels.

Framework

The five levels we use to scope a commissioning search. Each level lists what the person has run, written or led, and one screening question for it.

Technician I

  • Completed installation and pre-functional checklists (L2) and helped on startups (L3) with a lead present
  • Holds or can obtain NFPA 70E and OSHA 10 or 30

Screen: Walk me through a checklist you completed. What did you do when a line item failed?

Titles we see at this level: Field Technician I, Commissioning Technician, Pre-Commission Technician

Technician II

  • Ran functional tests (L4) from scripts someone else wrote, without a lead on site
  • Logged and closed issues with the contractor
  • Has worked energized equipment or live building systems under a permit

Screen: Which L4 tests did you run on your own, on what equipment, and who wrote the script?

Titles we see at this level: Field Technician II and III, Commissioning Agent II, Staff II

Engineer I

  • Wrote L3 and L4 scripts from the sequence of operations and submittals
  • Witnessed factory tests (L1) and signed off or rejected equipment
  • Directed vendors and trades during testing

Screen: Tell me about a script you wrote that failed in the field. What was wrong with it?

Titles we see at this level: Field Specialist I, Commissioning Engineer II, Senior Commissioning Engineer at some providers

Engineer II

  • Led integrated systems testing (L5) for a hall or building
  • Owned the commissioning plan and schedule for a phase

Screen: You are running IST and the load bank trips at hour 3. What happens in the next hour, and who decides?

Titles we see at this level: Commissioning Lead, Senior Commissioning Engineer, owner-side Commissioning Engineer

Manager

  • Ran commissioning across several buildings or a campus
  • Managed third-party commissioning vendors or a team of engineers
  • Set the commissioning requirements in the owner's project requirements or the contract
  • Trained and mentored commissioning engineers

Screen: How did you staff the last campus you commissioned, and what would you change?

Titles we see at this level: Commissioning Manager, Commissioning Project Manager, Commissioning Authority

The titles under each level are our reading of the postings above. Each employer's own definitions apply to its jobs. Levels L1 to L5 are explained in the commissioning levels guide. Posted pay by role is on the commissioning pay page; pay by level will be added from the pay survey once it has enough answers.

Method

  • We searched for commissioning postings that carry a level in the title (I, II, III, Staff, Senior, Specialist) and read each on the employer's site or a job board that shows the full text, on November 5, 2026.
  • Each row quotes the posting. Where a posting leaves something out, the row says "Not stated". One DLB posting had closed when we read it; its dates are in the row.
  • Ampirical's substation testing ladder is included to compare a power-side ladder with data center commissioning ladders.
  • Eight postings is a small set, so we do not rank employers on it or treat it as a market survey.

Questions

What is the difference between a commissioning technician and a commissioning engineer?

In the postings we read, the line is drawn at who writes the test. Technicians complete checklists and run functional tests from scripts someone else wrote. Engineers write the scripts, witness factory tests and direct vendors during testing. DLB Associates' Field Specialist I posting lists writing the plans, checklists and test scripts as part of the job.

How many years of experience is a Commissioning Engineer II?

It depends on the employer. QTS asks three to seven years of technical, military or workplace experience for a Commissioning Engineer II. CPG asks three to five years for an Electrical Commissioning Agent II. CAI asks two years of data center commissioning for a Staff II. The same numeral means different things at different firms, so we level by what someone has run and written.

Does a senior title mean more pay?

Not across employers. CAI posted its Senior Electrical Commissioning Engineer, asking five to ten years of data center commissioning, at $91,300 to $107,300. DLB Associates posted its Commissioning Field Specialist I, asking a degree or about seven years, at $99,750 to $120,225. Compare the scope and the posted range instead.

How should I screen a commissioning candidate's level?

Ask which commissioning levels they ran, which they wrote the script for, and which they led. Someone who ran L4 tests from another engineer's scripts is a strong technician. Someone who wrote those scripts and directed vendors is an engineer. Someone who led integrated systems testing for a building is past both. The framework on this page has one question for each level.

Hiring call

Book a hiring call and we'll talk through which roles your build needs and when to bring them on.

Czarina Tabayoyong, founder of Critical Path Hiring

Czarina Tabayoyong

Founder and principal recruiter, Critical Path Hiring. Czarina recruits commissioning, MEP, power and critical facilities people for data center builds. She previously recruited cloud and data center architecture talent at AWS Professional Services, and PMO and project delivery talent for hyperscale data center campuses in Texas and Virginia.

More about Czarina · LinkedIn