Critical Path Hiring logoCritical PathHiring
Book a hiring diagnostic

October 2026 study

Data center construction labor gap by metro

Our trackers list 5,204 MW of stated capacity under construction across nine U.S. metros. At the 1.9 to 5.3 workers per MW that named builds report, that capacity needs 10,009 to 27,754 construction workers at peak. This page sets that demand against the construction workforce BLS counts in each metro and the apprentices each state graduates in a year.

Czarina Tabayoyong, founder of Critical Path Hiring

By Czarina Tabayoyong, Founder, Critical Path Hiring. Former Amazon, AWS and Google recruiter.

Last reviewed · First published · Next update

Updated with the monthly tracker refresh.

Refresh alerts

One email each time this page is refreshed, with what changed.

Privacy policy

Findings

  • San Antonio has the largest gap. 1,700 MW under construction across 3 projects needs an estimated 3,269 to 9,067 workers at peak, 7.2% to 20% of the 45,550 construction and extraction workers in the metro. The metro employs 6,660 electricians in total.
  • Columbus is second at 4.9% to 14%, from 1,000 MW. 4 of its 5 projects under construction state no capacity, so its demand is higher than the figure shown.
  • Northern Virginia's 1,000 MW build, the same size as Columbus's, is 1.7% to 4.7% of its workforce, because the Washington metro employs 113,410 construction workers to Columbus's 39,220.
  • 2 of the 9 metros (San Antonio, Columbus) would need 5% or more of their construction workforce on data center sites at the high end of the estimate.
  • 10 of the 23 projects under construction state no capacity, so every demand figure here is a floor. Chicago's one site under construction states none, so Chicago shows no estimate.

Demand and supply

  • Low estimate
  • High estimate
Estimated peak data center construction demand as a share of each metro's construction workforceHorizontal bars for 8 metros with stated capacity under construction. San Antonio 7.2% to 20%; Columbus 4.9% to 14%; Northern Virginia 1.7% to 4.7%; Salt Lake City 0.7% to 2.0%; Atlanta 0.7% to 2.0%; Phoenix 0.7% to 2.0%; Dallas-Fort Worth 0.4% to 1.2%; Hillsboro 0.4% to 1.0%. Chicago has no stated capacity and is not shown.0%10%20%San Antonio: 3,269 to 9,067 workers at peak against 45,550 employedSan Antonio1,700 MW7.2% to 20%Columbus: 1,923 to 5,333 workers at peak against 39,220 employedColumbus1,000 MW4.9% to 14%Northern Virginia: 1,923 to 5,333 workers at peak against 113,410 employedNorthern Virginia1,000 MW1.7% to 4.7%Salt Lake City: 337 to 933 workers at peak against 46,030 employedSalt Lake City175 MW0.7% to 2.0%Atlanta: 681 to 1,888 workers at peak against 93,260 employedAtlanta354 MW0.7% to 2.0%Phoenix: 956 to 2,651 workers at peak against 132,260 employedPhoenix497 MW0.7% to 2.0%Dallas-Fort Worth: 712 to 1,973 workers at peak against 162,920 employedDallas-Fort Worth370 MW0.4% to 1.2%Hillsboro: 208 to 576 workers at peak against 57,870 employedHillsboro108 MW0.4% to 1.0%
Peak construction workers on stated capacity under construction, divided by BLS May 2025 construction and extraction employment in the metro. Solid bar: 1.9 workers per MW. Light bar: 5.3 per MW. Chicago is left out because its one site under construction states no capacity.

Sorted by the high estimate as a share of the metro construction workforce. Peak workers are estimates: stated MW under construction × 1.9 to 5.3 workers per MW. Supply is BLS May 2025 employment for the metro area. Pipeline adds approved projects with a stated MW.

MetroMW under constructionPeak workers, estimateConstruction workforceShare of workforceWith approved pipelineElectricians employed
San Antonio1,7003 projects3,269 to 9,06745,5507.2% to 20%approved MW not stated6,660
Columbus1,0005 projects, 4 with no MW stated1,923 to 5,33339,2204.9% to 14%approved MW not stated7,210
Northern Virginia1,0001 project1,923 to 5,333113,4101.7% to 4.7%1,216 MW, up to 5.7%2 approved with no MW stated16,580
Salt Lake City1753 projects, 2 with no MW stated337 to 93346,0300.7% to 2.0%575 MW, up to 6.7%3 approved with no MW stated5,710
Atlanta3542 projects681 to 1,88893,2600.7% to 2.0%1,474 MW, up to 8.4%2 approved with no MW stated13,430
Phoenix4972 projects956 to 2,651132,2600.7% to 2.0%1,497 MW, up to 6.0%4 approved with no MW stated17,240
Dallas-Fort Worth3704 projects, 2 with no MW stated712 to 1,973162,9200.4% to 1.2%778 MW, up to 2.5%2 approved with no MW stated20,930
Hillsboro1082 projects, 1 with no MW stated208 to 57657,8700.4% to 1.0%256 MW, up to 2.4%7,340
Chicagonot stated1 project, 1 with no MW statedno estimate132,250approved MW not stated17,720

Apprenticeship completers

Registered apprenticeship completers, all occupations, federal fiscal year 2025, from the Department of Labor dashboard. These are statewide and cover every apprenticed trade, so they show the size of each state's pipeline rather than new data center electricians. The United States graduated 122,568 apprentices in FY2025.

StateCompleters FY2025Completers FY2021ChangePeak demand in tracked metros
Virginia1,9581,761+11%1,923 to 5,333Northern Virginia
Texas6,4223,052+110%3,981 to 11,040San Antonio, Dallas-Fort Worth
Arizona1,017675+51%956 to 2,651Phoenix
Georgia1,564951+64%681 to 1,888Atlanta
Ohio3,2362,777+17%1,923 to 5,333Columbus
Illinois3,6963,060+21%no stated MWChicago
Utah1,023714+43%337 to 933Salt Lake City
Oregon1,8441,912-4%208 to 576Hillsboro

Texas graduated 6,422 apprentices in FY2025, more than double its FY2021 count. Its two tracked metros need an estimated 3,981 to 11,040 workers at peak on stated capacity alone. Ohio graduated 3,236 against a Columbus peak estimate of 1,923 to 5,333.

Trades by metro

BLS May 2025 employment and the median annual electrician wage for each metro area.

MetroConstruction and extractionElectriciansElectrician median payHVAC mechanicsPlumbers and pipefittersElectrical engineers
Northern VirginiaWashington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV113,41016,580$75,9308,7309,4204,450
Dallas-Fort WorthDallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX162,92020,930$59,01010,91011,9805,720
PhoenixPhoenix-Mesa-Chandler, AZ132,26017,240$61,2108,0709,2703,420
AtlantaAtlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA93,26013,430$58,6507,0605,4703,910
ColumbusColumbus, OH39,2207,210$64,7003,0003,0601,100
ChicagoChicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN132,25017,720$102,3507,21012,7504,290
Salt Lake CitySalt Lake City-Murray, UT46,0305,710$62,6202,5403,190810
San AntonioSan Antonio-New Braunfels, TX45,5506,660$57,0103,1603,190820
HillsboroPortland-Vancouver-Hillsboro, OR-WA57,8707,340$105,0902,5804,6002,320

Workers per MW

The two named builds that publish both a peak workforce and a capacity set the range used above.

BuildPeak workforceMWWorkers per MWSource
Abilene campus (Oracle, OpenAI, Crusoe), Texasmore than 6,400 on site every day1,2005.3arrington.house.gov
Meta Richland Parish, Louisiana5,000 planned peak2,6001.9ibew.org
Aligned IAD-06, Frederick, Maryland (Turner)345 workers at topping out724.8turnerconstruction.com
Microsoft Mount Pleasant, Wisconsinmore than 2,960 jobs at peak activitynot statedlocal.microsoft.com
Typical Virginia facility (JLARC)about 1,500 workers on site per facility at peaknot statedjlarc.virginia.gov

Hiring impact

In San Antonio and Columbus, the sites under construction need the largest share of the local construction workforce of the nine metros. Some of that labor comes off other projects or from outside the metro. Owners and contractors on those sites pay for travel, per diem and housing on top of wages. Commissioning teams that follow construction also travel. See our hiring windows by market for when each site reaches commissioning.

In Dallas-Fort Worth, Phoenix and Atlanta, the stated capacity under construction fits inside the metro workforce at under 2% even at the high end. The approved pipeline is the larger figure there. Phoenix and Atlanta each have more than 1,000 MW approved with a stated capacity, plus approved projects that state none.

For candidates in the trades, the metros with the largest gaps are where sites are most likely to post travel and per diem terms. Median electrician pay runs from $57,010 to $105,090 across these metros. Our trades pay and labor supply article covers that in more detail.

Method and limits

  • Demand: every project in our nine trackers with stage Under construction or Approved, and the MW its own announcements state. 10 of 23 projects under construction state none and count as zero. Where a project states only a full-buildout figure, that figure is used, so some demand is spread over several years rather than hitting at once.
  • Workers per MW: 1.9 (Meta Richland Parish, 5,000 workers for 2,600 MW) to 5.3 (Abilene, more than 6,400 for 1,200 MW). Both are campus-scale figures, so the range already reflects phased building. Smaller builds can run higher: Turner reported 345 workers at topping out on a 72 MW building.
  • Supply: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025, metropolitan area estimates, major group 47-0000 for construction and extraction and 47-2111 for electricians. Read on data.bls.gov on October 25, 2026. BLS counts workers by where they work, so traveling crews already on site are included.
  • Pipeline: Department of Labor Registered Apprenticeship completers, all occupations, FY2025, from the Apprentices by State dashboard. Statewide, all trades. No official source publishes electrician completers by state.
  • No official source states the electrical share of data center construction labor, so this page compares total construction demand with total construction employment and does not estimate an electrician shortfall.
  • The share column divides an estimated peak by a point-in-time employment count. It shows the size of the demand relative to the local pool. Crews travel between metros, so a high share does not mean the pool is exhausted.

Download the data as CSV.

Questions

Which U.S. metro has the biggest data center construction labor gap?
In our October 2026 tracker, San Antonio: 1,700 MW under construction needs an estimated 3,269 to 9,067 construction workers at peak, which is 7.2% to 20% of the 45,550 construction and extraction workers BLS counts in the metro. Columbus is next at 4.9% to 14%.
How many construction workers does a data center need?
Named builds that publish both a peak workforce and a capacity run from about 1.9 to 5.3 workers per MW: Meta's Richland Parish campus at 5,000 for 2,600 MW and the Abilene campus at more than 6,400 for 1,200 MW. A 100 MW phase is therefore about 192 to 533 workers at peak. These are estimates and depend on design and schedule.
Are there enough electricians for data center construction?
No official source states what share of data center construction labor is electrical, so we don't publish an electrician shortfall. BLS projects about 72,700 electrician openings a year nationally through 2035. The metros we track employ between 5,710 and 20,930 electricians each.

Hiring call

Book a hiring call and we'll talk through which roles your build needs and when to bring them on.

Czarina Tabayoyong, founder of Critical Path Hiring

Czarina Tabayoyong

Founder and principal recruiter, Critical Path Hiring. Czarina recruits commissioning, MEP, power and critical facilities people for data center builds. She previously recruited cloud and data center architecture talent at AWS Professional Services, and PMO and project delivery talent for hyperscale data center campuses in Texas and Virginia.

More about Czarina · LinkedIn