Critical Path Hiring logoCritical PathHiring
Book a hiring diagnostic

Commissioning data, October 2026

Data center commissioning certifications

We read the full text of 46 data center commissioning job postings and recorded every certification, license and safety card each one names, and whether it is required or preferred. 17 of 46 name a commissioning certification. 2 require one.

Czarina Tabayoyong, founder of Critical Path Hiring

By Czarina Tabayoyong, Founder, Critical Path Hiring. Former Amazon, AWS and Google recruiter.

Last reviewed · First published · Next update

Updated with the monthly commissioning pay set.

Refresh alerts

One email each time this page is refreshed, with what changed.

Privacy policy

Findings

  • 17 of 46 postings name a commissioning certification such as CxA, CCP, BCxP, QCxP or CBCP. 2 require one, and one of those accepts a PE license instead. Every other mention is listed as preferred.
  • A PE license is the most-named credential, in 14 of 46 postings, required in 1. CxA follows at 11 and CCP at 10.
  • 18 of 46 postings name no credential at all. None of the 4 general contractor postings names one.
  • 9 of 46 postings require any credential. The required items are mostly safety and trade credentials: NFPA 70E electrical safety training in 4, an electrician license in 2, and a driver's license in 2.

Credential counts

Each posting counts once per credential. Base: 46 postings.

CredentialPostingsRequiredPreferred
PE license14 of 46113
CxA (ACG)11 of 46011
CCP (BCCB)10 of 46010
NFPA 70E training6 of 4641
PMP6 of 4606
OSHA 305 of 4614
BCxP (ASHRAE)4 of 4604
OSHA 104 of 4613
QCxP (UW-Madison)4 of 4604
CBCP (AEE)3 of 4603
CDCP (EPI)3 of 4603
CEM3 of 4603
Commissioning certification, type not named3 of 4603
Driver's license3 of 4620
Electrician license3 of 4621
LEED AP3 of 4603
EIT or FE2 of 4602
NETA technician certification2 of 4601

Named in one posting each: Accredited commissioning certification, type not named, BICSI credential, CDCE (EPI), CMQ/OE (ASQ), CPR or first aid, CQE (ASQ), Energy management certification, ISA CCST, Lean or Six Sigma, NICET, Passport, QCP, as written in the posting, TAB certification, Working at heights.

Postings write "CCP" for the Building Commissioning Certification Board credential. Where a posting asks for "a commissioning certification" without naming one, we count it separately and don't assign it to any issuer.

Role and employer

Groups are small, so read these as counts rather than rates.

RolePostingsCx certPENone
Commissioning engineer20997
Commissioning manager or lead13428
Commissioning technician7110
Commissioning agent (CxA)4222
Commissioning project manager2101
Employer typePostingsCx certPENone
Staffing agencies15447
Data center owners and hyperscalers14862
Commissioning firms7224
Other employers6321
General contractors4004

Cost and prerequisites

Read on each issuer's own site on October 25, 2026. Fees change, so check the issuer before you apply.

CxA, Certified Commissioning Authority

Issuer
AABC Commissioning Group (ACG)
Prerequisites
One of four tracks, from a PE or licensed architect with 3 years of commissioning to a high school diploma with 10 years in the building industry, 5 of them in commissioning. At least 3 commissioning projects.
Exam
125 multiple-choice questions, 4 hours 15 minutes, closed book
Cost
Application, including one exam: $350 for employees of ACG member firms, $2,500 for everyone else. Annual fee in ACG's candidate handbook: $200 for member-firm employees, $2,500 for others.
Renewal
3-year cycle, 50 recertification points, at least one commissioning project
Source
commissioning.org

CCP, Certified Commissioning Professional

Issuer
Building Commissioning Certification Board (BCCB), the certification body linked to the Building Commissioning Association
Prerequisites
Not stated on the pages we could open
Exam
Not stated on the pages we could open
Cost
Not stated on the pages we could open
Renewal
Every 3 years, per the U.S. Department of Labor's O*NET listing
Source
onetonline.orgThe BCCB site at bccbonline.org has current fees and requirements.

BCxP, Building Commissioning Professional

Issuer
ASHRAE
Prerequisites
One of four tracks, from a PE or licensed architect with 3 years of commissioning to a high school diploma with 10 years in the building industry, 5 of them in commissioning. 3 commissioning projects.
Exam
Computer-based, year-round at test centers
Cost
$495 for ASHRAE members, $745 for non-members
Renewal
3-year cycle: 50 professional development hours and one commissioning project. Recertification $245 members, $375 non-members.
Source
ashrae.orgASHRAE's older CPMP is no longer on its list of certifications. CPMP holders recertify as BCxP.

CBCP, Certified Building Commissioning Professional

Issuer
Association of Energy Engineers (AEE)
Prerequisites
From a related 4-year degree, PE or RA with 3 years of related experience, to no degree with 10 years
Exam
Taken after an AEE training program or by remote proctoring
Cost
$400 for application and exam, $200 to retest
Renewal
Every 3 years, $300
Source
aeecenter.org

QCxP, Qualified Commissioning Process Provider

Issuer
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Interdisciplinary Professional Programs
Prerequisites
None. No degree or project experience required. Earned by completing the coursework, then passing the exam.
Exam
Held in set windows, such as Nov 7 to 19, 2026
Cost
Exam $875. Core courses $1,595 or $2,295.
Renewal
Valid 5 years, renewed with an online quiz
Source
interpro.wisc.edu

PE, Professional Engineer license

Issuer
State licensing boards. NCEES writes and runs the FE and PE exams.
Prerequisites
NCEES designs the PE exam for engineers with at least 4 years of work experience after college. Each state board sets its own rules.
Exam
FE exam, then the PE exam in a discipline, both computer-based
Cost
NCEES exam fees: $225 for the FE, $400 for the PE. State board fees are separate.
Renewal
Set by each state board
Source
ncees.org

NETA ETT, Electrical Testing Technician Levels 1 to 4

Issuer
InterNational Electrical Testing Association (NETA)
Prerequisites
Level 2: 2 years of experience plus safety and electrical training hours. Level 3: 5 years. Level 4: 10 years.
Exam
Levels 2 and 3: 100 questions, 2 hours. Level 4: 65 questions, 2 hours. Commissioning content rises from 5% of Level 2 to 20% of Level 4.
Cost
Not stated on the certification page
Renewal
Not stated on the certification page
Source
netaworld.org

NICET Electrical Power Testing, Levels I to IV

Issuer
National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies (NICET)
Prerequisites
Exam, documented work history and, at Levels III and IV, a recommendation
Exam
Computer-based. The Level IV exam opens in January 2027.
Cost
Application $235 (Level I) to $435 (Level IV), effective Aug 1, 2026
Renewal
Every 3 years through continuing professional development
Source
nicet.org

CDCP, Certified Data Centre Professional

Issuer
EPI
Prerequisites
None
Exam
40 questions, 1 hour, after a 2-day course
Cost
Not stated
Renewal
Valid 3 years
Source
epi-ap.com

OSHA 30 Construction card

Issuer
OSHA-authorized trainers, under OSHA's Outreach Training Program
Prerequisites
None
Exam
30 hours of training, at most 7.5 hours a day
Cost
Set by the training provider
Renewal
Construction cards do not expire
Source
osha.govOSHA says the card is not a certification or license.

Hiring impact

In this set, 15 of the 17 postings that name a commissioning certification list it as preferred. A posting that requires one asks for more than most other postings do. ACG's CxA and ASHRAE's BCxP list the same four experience tracks, so the two cover similar candidates.

The credentials these postings require are safety and trade credentials, mainly NFPA 70E training and, for electrical technician roles, an electrician license. Our interview questions for L4 and L5 leads show what employers test for in an interview, and the commissioning pay ranges come from the same set of postings.

Method and limits

  • The set is the 48 U.S. data center commissioning postings with a stated pay range in our October 2026 pay dataset. 2 could no longer be opened, which leaves 46.
  • We counted a credential only when the posting names it. Mentions of standards knowledge, such as familiarity with ASHRAE guidelines or NETA test procedures, are not counted.
  • "Required" means the posting says required, must or mandatory. "Preferred" covers preferred, a plus, desired and nice to have.
  • Postings that state a pay range may differ from those that don't. 15 of the 46 are from staffing agencies.

Talent network

Certified or not, tell us your level, travel and pay, and Czarina will contact you when a search fits.

We use your details to contact you about roles and share them only with your consent.

Questions

Do you need a certification to be a data center commissioning agent?
Most postings don't require one. In our October 2026 set, 17 of 46 data center commissioning postings name a commissioning certification, and 2 require one. One of those 2 accepts a PE license instead.
Which commissioning certification do employers ask for most?
CxA, named in 11 of 46 postings, then CCP in 10. Every mention of either was listed as preferred. A PE license was named more often than any commissioning certification, in 14 of 46 postings.
How much does a commissioning certification cost?
On the issuers' own pages, AEE's CBCP lists $400 for the application and exam. ASHRAE's BCxP costs $495 for members and $745 for non-members. ACG's CxA application costs $350 for employees of ACG member firms and $2,500 for others. QCxP has no degree or experience requirement, but the exam costs $875 on top of coursework.
Czarina Tabayoyong, founder of Critical Path Hiring

Czarina Tabayoyong

Founder and principal recruiter, Critical Path Hiring. Czarina recruits commissioning, MEP, power and critical facilities people for data center builds. She previously recruited cloud and data center architecture talent at AWS Professional Services, and PMO and project delivery talent for hyperscale data center campuses in Texas and Virginia.

More about Czarina · LinkedIn